Large Databases

• timjones
    Participant
    4 years, 5 months ago #15541

Hello. I am just finding your plugin. I am brand new to this stuff so please go easy on me. I am creating a website that is going to have multiple millions of blog posts and I need them searchable by tags, such as mutiple checkboxs to narrow results… so each time a checkbox is checked, example “blue” it filters everything out the other blogs instantly, then if a checkbox is checked “big” it filters blogs again. As well we want to incorporate woocommerce and buddypress. Can your plugin handle extremely large databases? If so, I do not really understand the differences between Apache Solr, Elasticsearch and Algolia. Also, I know the pricing for Algolia : $12,480/year is accurate… so your algolia is not connected with algolia.com correct? Your pricing is $199 for the year, that I will host on my own server correct?

And last question,… (you can tell I am a rookie) but what does 20 integrations actually mean? How many integrations would I need for the above example?

I may need to hire someone to help integrate this for me, but just trying to understand now.

Thank you very much.

wpsolr
    Keymaster
    4 years, 5 months ago #15542

Exact, WPSOLR can filter your search results with any custom field, taxonomy, or product attribute.

Multi-million posts blog is not a problem for WPSOLR. Your main problem is your blog itself. So, if your blog is fast with millions of posts, then WPSOLR will be lightning fast as well.

For instance, https://foorum.perekool.ee/otsing/ (a bbPress forum with 3 million topics) is powered by WPSOLR.

You’re right, WPSOLR is a plugin, and its pricing does not include Elasticsearch, Solr, or Algolia hosting.

For your quantity of posts, hosting could be expensive, especially with Algolia. The usual idea is to host your own Elasticsearch or Solr for free instead.

WPSOLR is integrated with WooCommerce, but not with buddypress.

timjones
    Participant